So some of you who follow me on my author’s page on Facebook know that I recently hired an editor for two of my three horror short stories due out for Halloween. (She didn’t edit my third story because it was previously published in an anthology called A Journey of Words, which you can pick up here.)

What was it like, you may ask? An experience like none other. For one thing–and you’ll get a laugh out of this–I naively thought hiring an editor meant I would just hand over my manuscript and my work would be done. HA HA! A real knee-slapper, right?

Oh my god, I don’t think I’ve ever worked so hard in my life. Imagine it to be like having a personal trainer at the gym, only–it’s for your story. My BRAIN hurts. Ow. It is bruised and sore and after several rounds of reps, I’m like, “Screw it, you win; I don’t even care anymore!” Only, I do. I care very much. And my editor is amazing. She made suggestions and explained why it had to be a certain way. If I disagreed, it was generally because I didn’t make what I was trying to convey clear enough and she helped me to get the wording just right and translated it from the language of Rebecca-ese into everyday English.

I learned a lot from partnering up with her. It is immensely gratifying to see the diamond cut to its destined brilliance. I cannot wait to share these stories with you. Alas, I have to. They’ll be released Oct. 30th so keep an eye out for them. And oh, by the way, they’re entirely free for the five days Amazon allows me for promo purposes–my treat to you–so be sure to grab them while they’re hot, or you will pay! (Get it? “Or you will pay”… because the free promo is over? All right, I’ll torture you folks later.)

By the way, to my fellow writers out there, if you need an above-and-beyond editor, please check out Leah Lederman. I cannot praise her enough and her prices are so reasonable for what she does that I sort of feel like I took advantage of her. So send her some love by Liking her Facebook page, won’t you?

So here’s what I’ve got lined up, coming to an Amazon Kindle near you. Stay tuned, stay excited, and I hope to hear from you.

