Tags

, ,

“Forever Home–A Poem for a Certain Sugar Glider”

You were about the size and shape
Of my heart.  No wonder you had
No trouble slipping within, curled up
To sleep.  That made my heart glad
That I could hold you, a perfect pouch
Made useful by the dear contents within.
It was for you that I opened my heart
To peek inside every now and again
And your eyes would meet mine
To see what treats I had to give.

I loved you enough to give you a friend,
And my heart grew twice in size
As I saw your loneliness abate
And the happiness in your eyes.
You taught me so much about love,
Patience and joy in little things:
A chirp, a purr, a play in the wheel,
Your nightly interest in foraging
And your eyes would meet mine
To see what treats I had to give.

Then one day, your eyes were closed.
We petted you but you did not stir.
You dreamed your way into Heaven, dear,
My darling little bundle of fur.
Glide free, my dear, my sweet little love;
I’ll do my best not to cry
When I think of your best, new home,
Your forever home in the sky.

