Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

“Devil and the Deep Blue Me”

I am an ear in a sea of mouths
That pummel, assault, then suddenly house.
Like a raging sea, straightening her skirts,
She’s a loving parent after she hurts.
But oh, oh, she means you well
Yet you’re broken, you’re battered—
Beached, bleached, an empty shell…

I am a shell, laying on the beach.
I think I am safe now, out of reach.
But no, no! Who should come near
And snatch me up to place at her ear?
Who should it be but she who did me wrong,
She who smiles, flattered
At the echo of her song?

I am an echoing mimicry
Caught between the devil
And the deep blue sea.
Caught between the devil
And the deep blue me…
All the joys a-shrivel
When you’re not free.

*Author’s Note: Not sure how I feel about this one.  I don’t know about you, but if you’re like me, sometimes you have to wait awhile before you know how you feel about a poem you just wrote.  Almost like wine, it needs to “breathe”.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with the phrase “Caught between the Devil and the deep blue sea”, it supposed to express a meaning much like “caught between a rock and a hard place”, or in other words, caught between two undesirable situations, or choices and neither are easy.

I got the inspiration for this poem because it occurred to me how much people liked listening to themselves talk.  They are sometimes more interested in their own opinions that even after they ask you a question, they are not willing to wait to hear for your reply.  In fact, they are so very fond of their own opinion that they think you should be just like them, too.  And if you’re not of the same mindset as they are, well, you’re no good.  They will either cast you aside or keep yapping at you ceaselessly until you agree.

That’s it for today.  I will hopefully write another decent poem tomorrow.  I feel like I barely got through this last one.  Whew!  I had NO idea what I was going to write about tonight.  So…yay!  Feeling triumphant.  😉

*Additional Author’s Note: Upon looking back, I think I wrote this for my mother, who wasn’t always the nicest of mothers. :/

